Oglesby, Herold, and Madden Announce VMWare Book, Preview Chapter Now Available

Ron Oglesby and Scott Herold are two of the most experienced VMWare consultants in the world. I'm happy to annouce that the two of them have gotten together to write a VMWare ESX Server book.

Ron Oglesby and Scott Herold are two of the most experienced VMWare consultants in the world. I'm happy to annouce that the two of them have gotten together to write a VMWare ESX Server book. I'll be helping them put the book together and publish it.

We're taking the same approach with this book that we have with our previous Citrix and Terminal Server books. VMWare ESX Server: Advanced Technical Design Guide will be a real-world architectural field guide that shows you how to design VMWare ESX environments. It will not be a re-hash of the instruction manual, and it will not be filled with screenshots.

It will follow the look and feel of our past books, including the bulleted lists of advantages and disadvantages for each design point. 

The book will be available in April 2005. A preview chapter is now available for download. (Click the PDF link at the top of this article.) We've chosen "Chapter 5: Designing the Guest Environment" as the preview chapter. This huge chapter goes into all the details you need to understand to design a guest environment, including master installation, ISO management, virtual machine networking, controlling resource usage, managing DSK files, and virtual machine deployment.

We'll bring more chapters online over the next several months. At this point, the final book's table of contents will look something like this:

Section 1. Introduction to ESX Server
1. VMware Overview
2. ESX Architectural Overview
3. VMware ESX Implementation

Section 2. Infrastructure Design
4. Network and Storage Strategies
5. Designing the Guest Environment
6. Managing the server (Console OS and MUI)

Section 3. VMware in the Enterprise
7. Management and Security
8. High Availability VMware Systems
9. Server sizing and performance optimization
10. Automated Installs and provisioning
11. VMware and Disaster Recovery

We're always interested in your feedback, so drop me a line if you're interested in helping us review the book once we get closer to completion.


VMWareESXGuest.pdf

Join the conversation

51 comments

Send me notifications when other members comment.

Please create a username to comment.

This message was originally posted by michaelk4hp on October 25, 2004
read the chapter. You guys surely do have your sh#$ together. Thanks again from the people that actually do this stuff for a living. You guys should be sainted!!!! LOL Keep up the great work!!!!!!!
Cancel
This message was originally posted by an anonymous visitor on October 25, 2004
Brian we got your message, you don't need to repeat yourself so many times. Just joking. Thanks for the free chapter.
Cancel
This message was originally posted by Brian Madden on October 25, 2004
The ISBN will be 0971151067. The book will be available in April 2005. I'm not sure whether the book shows up in any online stores yet though.
Cancel
This message was originally posted by an anonymous visitor on October 25, 2004
Its about time to someone wrote an ESX server book. Seeing how there are no books on this at all you have to read every admin guide, every white paper etc just to get a good idea on how to do things. This should be another great book/topic.
Cancel
This message was originally posted by What Is on October 25, 2004
What Is The ISBN Number. ETA?
Cancel
This message was originally posted by Jason Boche on October 26, 2004
Keep up the good work - can't wait for the release of this book.

Jas
Cancel
This message was originally posted by agressiv on October 25, 2004
noticed a typo - should we email these?
Cancel
This message was originally posted by Gert on October 26, 2004
I read this first chapters and this is great. As VCP I want to help you review the book. Gert.vangorp @ uptime.be
Cancel
This message was originally posted by an anonymous visitor on October 25, 2004
Brian. This book is going to sell like hot cakes! Adding VMware goodies to your site is an excellent compliment to the all cool Citrix & TS stuff. Thanks
Cancel
This message was originally posted by Ron Oglesby on October 25, 2004
Guys, Thanks for the feedback so far. We (scott and I) are both working our a$$ off to try and make this book the best yet. The great thing is we get to use Brian's basic format and keep with the "ATDG" concept. No screen shots, no "Now you click next after setting the memory at 256", All real stuff, that type of stuff that you look at on a system and say "Hey, what the hell does this do anyway". The type of stuff that really makes a book worth while. Hopefully it will be a best seller. Then I can retire to Cabo and move next door to Sammy.
Ron
Cancel
This message was originally posted by Scott Herold on October 25, 2004
I have to follow up Ron with a thank you of my own. Ron and I have put a lot of effort into this and am glad the initial response is positive. In terms of the noticed typo, I'm sure Brian wouldn't mind a friendly email. You can also visit Ron and My VMGuru website (www.vmguru.com) and submit "Feedback" through the link on the left. We will be sure to keep Brian honest as issues such as these come up :-)

-Scott
Cancel
This message was originally posted by Brian Madden on October 26, 2004
Thanks for all the great feedback.. This preview chapter has not yet been through our editor, but you can still email typos to me if you want.
Cancel
This message was originally posted by CMan on October 27, 2004
This snippet looks good. Will there be any info on Virtual SMP? Will the book cover GSX in any way? Also, any chapters on the other great VMWare tools like VirtualCenter? May also be worth covering the possibilities for testing using the Workstation version, as even two node clustering is possible with this version, and for small companies this is a real cost saving for a functional test environment.
Cancel
This message was originally posted by Steve on October 27, 2004
I have just been at VMWorld first day chatting and HP and IBM will have books out before Xmas, they have been shoing the books off, so get moving guys...
Cancel
This message was originally posted by Wasted on October 27, 2004
How about a signup for a email reminder for when the book is on the shelfs ?

Thanx
Cancel
This message was originally posted by Ron on October 27, 2004
I haven't seen them yet but ofcourse they booths werent even constructed at 10am this morning. The funny thing is what will you get from a HP or IBM book? thats right, how to implement it on their stuff, and the corporate line (VMware is good for everything etc). The funny thing is that we have pissed off some VMware types by saying some servers are meant for VMware, you dont get a good cost benefit etc... really pissed them off, HP and IBM wont do that. I feel good that ours will be a winner.
Cancel
This message was originally posted by Ron Oglesby on October 28, 2004
Our one "sample" chapter was 58 pages in word, which can translate into like 70 or more in book format. And we still have 10 other chapters int he book. So I think 500-600 is a good Guess. As for GSX, Since it doesnt have the OS componenet that ESX does there isnt as much to write about. BUT after having some conversations last night there was a lot of interest in a book that was about Virtualization on Windows covering both GSX and VS 2005. Might have to think about that after we finish this. Ron
Cancel
This message was originally posted by ? on October 28, 2004
I have only used ESX once, (and that was just a test). Everytime i mention VMware, alot of people think Workstation or GSX. Do you think you can get 600 pages of ESX?

If the book is good, i will buy it anyway. But GSX is what i care about in this moment in time. But a 600 pg book on GSX?, i don't think so. People that that VM serious will use ESX...I guess i just convinced myself to by this book....
Cancel
This message was originally posted by Doug Baer on November 2, 2004
I'm definitely interested in this book. The sample chapter looks good. Even though we've got ESX and VirtualCenter in production, It would be nice to see what other people are doing. There will be information about VC, right? :)
Cancel
This message was originally posted by Goldrush on November 8, 2004
Is Vmotion mentioned in this chapter ?
Cancel
This message was originally posted by Ron Oglesby on November 9, 2004
Vmotion is in Section 3, But it is mentioned in SAN and Network configuration chapters. The reason is that we beleive in a dedicated VMotion network. and there are obiously specific san and server config requriements for it, but beyond that it just works. You ahve a specific question?
Cancel
This message was originally posted by just a lone VCP on November 23, 2004
I will be really interested to check the SAN parts of this book, if there is some information that is easy to come by, like performance tuning disk systems with VMware. VMFS block size = 1MB, BUT still it makes smaller reads.. what is the correct segment size for you RAID array, then? How about HBA lun queue sizes and tuning them? How to find correct values quickly? Recommendations for different usage profiles? Etc.

Based on the demo chapter I'm afraid there won't be really any new insights, mostly just a collection of otherwise readily available information in one book.
Cancel
This message was originally posted by Mark Alexander on November 25, 2004
Same question as in Just Wondering. This would be very usefull.
Cancel
This message was originally posted by Scott Herold on November 30, 2004
As a side note, I have been creating a list of various items that do not fit into the book in its current format. That does not mean I am forgetting about them forever. Right now, all of my attention is focused on the book and completing it by the deadline. Once it is complete I will have A LOT of free time. That is when I intend to go back and work on supplimental whitepapers that answer some of the questions that could easily take up to 10 pages to document, test and explain. I am a very active member of the VMware community and have every intention to keep it that way. Who knows, maybe after the book release we will catch the attention of people (hardware vendors) who can supply us with access to the amount of hardware resources required to properly document the specific questions such as VMFS block sizing :-). (No, I do not have a DMX-3000 in my basement).
Cancel
This message was originally posted by Ron Oglesby on November 29, 2004
Well I hope you find some new insights in the book. Part of the issue with any OS book is what to really write about. Its one thing to spend an enormous ammount of time on SANs and another to wind up trying to put a lot of SAN info in finding out that each SAN, HW, HBA, DISK, LUN configuration mixture can be so complex that it is tough to find a silver bullet or s single forumal, and instead wind up with a list of hundreds of possible tweaks. Also which SAN should we write about? (I can't tell you how many e-mails we have telling us which SANs specifically to put in the book), but in the end its and ESX book and not a SAN book and we have to look at it from an ESX perspective only and try to get that info in there. As far as it just being readily available information. Well what are most technical books? I mean if you take ANY windows 2000/3 (or Linux) book off the shelf an search for any topic in the book using google, you find a ton of articles. Does that make it a bad book. Not if it does a good job of teaching someone windows 2000. But I beleive we have more than readily available information in the book (But I'm biased). I could point out a number of things in that chapter that dont show up in Vmware documenation that are common VMware user mistakes (take a look at the kernel operations notes for guest selection). Anyway, the idea is to bring information to someone. If the book doesn't bring you information, then dont buy it, thats cool. But if we get good info that someone getting into ESX can sit down and read and come out with a solid understanding of how to design the system, we hit our goal. We will continue to offer tuning tips and what not (look for Scott's papers on SCSI driver perfromance within a VM etc) but this is a design guide and we can only cover so much.
Cancel
This message was originally posted by Ron Oglesby on December 4, 2004
Well I dont know if we can get you a DMX-3000 for the basement but maybe a CX-300 could be finagled! Ron
Cancel
This message was originally posted by Eddy on December 7, 2004
Mark me down for a copy. I have been following you guys for a while now on the different vm forums.... Thanks!
Cancel
when is this book going to be released???
Cancel
I heard a rumor that it will be release by the end of May. Let's see if Brian would be kind enough to verify.
Cancel
Yeah, when will it be released? First it was supposed to be April, then May, and now it's been delayed again.
Cancel
Can we have a new release date, please?
Cancel
We're now into June and no new dates have been established - does anyone know what the status of this book is?
Cancel
Have you seen the other book that is coming out being published by Syngress. Looks like it might be some interesting reading as well.
Cancel
Time to cancel the pre-orders through Amazon????
Cancel
Expect a statement this weekend from Brian Madden on this site. Unofficially, we are within days of print.

Scott
Cancel
Yes, I have seen this and have every intention of reading it cover to cover as well.

Scott
Cancel
Hi folks,

Here's the schedule with this book:

As of now, the book still has not gone to print. We are in the final stages of making the index right now. The book will go to the printer next week. From there, it takes 3 to 5 weeks to be printed. After that it will be in Amazon and etc.

Whether you cancel your preorders or not is up to you. Amazon does NOT charge your credit card until they ship the book to you, so it really doesn't matter whether you cancel or not. But, if you don't want the book anymore, then yes, definitely cancel your order to ensure that you don't get it when it ships.

Brian

Cancel
If the book is finished, could you make a downloadable pdf available for sale? If you did, I hope you might also consider reducing the price for the electronic only version. This way those of us who needed it yestrday wouldn't have to wait for the print/distribution channel.



Cancel
I agree, I would purchase a PDF version of the book. I would prefer a PDF version over a hard cover
Cancel
When is this book coming out? I remember getting a sample chapter nearly a year ago at VMworld and its still not published.
Cancel
That book by Syngress looks like its coming out this Friday.
Cancel
The Book has Shipped and I got an advanced copy. Finally!!!
Cancel
According the Amazon, the Sygress book doesn't come out until October 30, 2005.
Cancel
I was in borders and ordered a copy that was going to arrive in two weeks.
Cancel
It's good to see that this is starting to get out to the users! If you don't mind me asking, where did you get the book from? Directly from Brian or through a retail outlet?

Scott
Cancel
based on the sample chapter, it appears to be missing a few paragraphs on DSK files

G Defenbaugh
gdefenbaugh@hotmail.com
Cancel
Sorry for the double posting, but I'm new to this forum. Appears that the page is where a few paragraphs on DSK files should be, if the sample chapter is any indication

BTW, I pre-ordered mine at Amazon and they shipped it last Friday. Arrived at my office yesterday (Monday, 8 Aug)

But, we do need to get the blank page issue resolved before I buy a box of books for everyone in my office.

Thanks

G Defenbaugh
gdefenbaugh@hotmail.com
Cancel
Just Got the Syngress book and its totally cool. Never heard of Al Muller or Seburn Wilson but the title of the first chapter made me laugh out loud.
Cancel
Cancel

zx


Cancel

book is superb


Cancel

-ADS BY GOOGLE

SearchVirtualDesktop

SearchEnterpriseDesktop

SearchServerVirtualization

SearchVMware

Close